The Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB) Graduate Program encourages our students to take every opportunity to present their work and meet researchers in their field.

Up to twelve $500 awards are available to CMB students for travel/virtual registration through December 31, 2022. The next application deadline is September 1, 2022.   Travel/Professional Development (not limited to conferences) must be completed by June 30, 2023.  These awards will support student participation in conferences, workshops, and externships / internships.  The application with additional information can be found on the Travel Award Application.

At the same time, you should apply for travel awards through the Graduate Student Council and also for any awards offered by conference organizers.

Travel awards may also be available through Professional Societies such as the Genetics Society of America and the American Society for Microbiology.

If you receive a travel award through CMB, you must provide a paragraph describing your experience along with a photo of yourself with a leader in your field. These may appear in the CMB Newsletter and / or on the CMB website.

Information and account numbers for Awards granted from CMB will be provided to the Travel Arranger from your PI’s Department.

2018 – 19 Award Winners

Kaila Nip
Seonil Kim Lab
Neuroscience 2018, San Diego CA

Dayton Pierce
Fred Hoerndli Lab
Neuroscience 2018, San Diego CA

Heather Deel
Jess Metcalf Lab
American Academy of Forensic Sciences, Baltimore MD

Society for Neuroscience 50 year logo
Society for Neuroscience 50 year logo
American Academy of Forensic Sciences logo

Jared Luxton
Susan Bailey Lab
Radiation Research Society 2018, Chicago IL

James Curlin
Ramesh Akkina Lab
Non-human primate models for AIDS, Seattle WA

Zeyad Arhoma
Debbie Crans Lab
American Chemical Society National Meeting & Exposition

Radiation Research Society Logo
Nonhuman Primate Models for Aids logo
American Chemical Society Logo

Alissa Williams
Dan Sloan Lab
Plastid Biotechnology: Gordon Research Conference, Ventura CA

Katie Cronise
Dawn Duval Lab
American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, Orlando FL

Tom Bickett
Angelo Izzo Lab
American Association of Immunology 2019, San Diego CA

Gordon Research Conferences Logo
American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Logo
Immunology San Diego Conference 2019 Logo

2017/18 Award Winners

Neha Ahuja
Deborah Garrity Lab

 Thirteenth International Zebrafish Conference, Madison WI

Allison Werner
Christie Peebles Lab
Society for Industrial Microbiology, Clearwater FL

Tom Bickett
Angelo Izzo Lab
Immunology 2018, Austin TX

Zebrafish Conference Logo
Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology Logo
Immunology 2018 Conference Logo

Erin Lynch
Brian Geiss Lab
Sequencing Finishing and Analysis in the Future, Santa Fe NM

Nora Jean Nealon
Elizabeth Ryan Lab
American Academy of Veterinary Nutrition, Seattle WA

Adam Heck
Carol Wilusz Lab
FASEB Conference on Post – transcriptional Control of Gene Expression: Mechanisms of RNA Decay, Scottsdale AZ

Sequencing Finishing Analysis Meeting Logo
American Academy of Veterinary Nutrition Logo
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology Logo